

To: Members of the Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE) Date: 19 June 2015

Direct Dial: 01824 706204

e-mail: dcc_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Sir / Madam

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION (SACRE)** to be held at **10.00 am** on **MONDAY**, **29 JUNE 2015** in **YSGOL BRYNHYFRYD**, **RUTHIN**.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal and Democratic Services

AGENDA

SILENT REFLECTION

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING (Pages 5 - 12)

To receive the minutes of the Denbighshire SACRE meeting held on the 13th February, 2015 (copy enclosed), and to consider any matters arising.

5 ANALYSIS OF INSPECTION REPORTS (Pages 13 - 18)

To receive the analysis of recent Estyn Inspection Reports (copy enclosed).

6 DONALDSON REVIEW (Pages 19 - 20)

To receive a presentation regarding Professor Donaldson's review of the curriculum and his recommendations. The review can be found at:http://gov.wales/topics/educationandskills/schoolshome/curriculuminwales/curriculum-for-wales/?lang=en

7 **YSGOL BRYN COLLEN AND COMMUNITY WORKING** (Pages 21 - 22)

To receive a presentation from Ysgol Bryn Collen regarding their work with local faith groups.

- **8 WASACRE** (Pages 23 42)
 - (1) To receive the minutes of the last meeting of the Association at Neath Port Talbot.
 - (2) To agree attendance to the next WASACRE on the 25th November, 2015 at Blaenau Gwent.
 - (3) To receive nominations to the Executive Committee and for Vice Chair (copies enclosed).

9 DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING

To note the time and date of the next Denbighshire SACRE meeting to be held on the 21st October, 2015 in the Council Chamber, Russell House, Rhyl.

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors Representing Denbighshire County Council

Bill Tasker	Joe Welch
Dewi Owens	Ann Davies
Arwel Roberts	

Representing Religious Denominations

Mr. Simon Cameron	Ms Mary Ludenbach
Mr. Dominic Oakes	Mrs C Thomas
Rev. B H Jones	Ms S Harris
Rev. Martin Evans-Jones	Lt. Sian Radford

Representing Teacher Associations

Mrs C Harmsworth

Ms. Ali Ballantyne

Co-opted Members

Ms. Tania Ap Siôn

Mr G Craigen

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils